PDA

View Full Version : Ram or GHZ

calaf
04-13-2005, 06:04 AM
i would like to know what is more effective to get additional power in order to use the gold or platinum with several instruments:increasing RAM,or changing processor (the for me a G5 instead of a G4 computer) .?
I understand that the more power(Ram+CPU) you give to ewqlso the best it works ,but if you have to choose between more RAM on the same computer or a new computer (G5 Cpu) which one gives the best result?
As for the HDrive,7200T seems to be standard .
As i am new in this big orchestral libraries ,how do you use(connect and pilot) many computers together? midi,network,firewire,...
I work with Logic7 ,is it through the "node"application ?
Thanks for helping me to be familiar with this.

Doug Rogers
04-13-2005, 08:37 AM
i would like to know what is more effective to get additional power in order to use the gold or platinum with several instruments:increasing RAM,or changing processor (the for me a G5 instead of a G4 computer) .?
I understand that the more power(Ram+CPU) you give to ewqlso the best it works ,but if you have to choose between more RAM on the same computer or a new computer (G5 Cpu) which one gives the best result?
As for the HDrive,7200T seems to be standard .
As i am new in this big orchestral libraries ,how do you use(connect and pilot) many computers together? midi,network,firewire,...
Thanks for helping me to be familiar with this.

More ram is more important than Ghz, however, if you can afford a G5, it offers other significant advantages over the G4. Our G5s have 3 Gigs of RAM and they work great with Platinum.

- Doug

calaf
04-15-2005, 12:26 PM
Thanks again for helping me to be familiar with this.[/QUOTE]

fvicente
04-15-2005, 03:16 PM
Hi Calaf,