PDA

View Full Version : Jambo, habari? Total newB needs advice please?

SysExJohn
11-21-2007, 05:10 AM
Hi to all,

The greetings in the header are Swahili. I'm an ex-colonial from East Africa, Uganda.
Age? well, no longer in the first flush of youth shall we say!

I currently support my partner (musically that is) who has a very fine (slightly mezzo) soprano voice. She will sing the lead from Haensel and Gretel in a local concert at Christmas. We are just starting out to make some additional income (hopefully) from music. I have collected together and use a MIDI based system including Yamaha MU1000, MU128 plus various PLG cards and a Roland SC-8850. All external sound modules driven either via USB or through a host connector (RS232). I've become fairly useful manipulating SysEx, if you'll pardon the expression. I either use the equipment live (with a laptop), through a mixer, as backing tracks, when no orchestra is available, or record a CD for very small venues, i.e. peoples houses.

Music type. Well various classical mainly, I've just started sequencing "Mi chiamano Mimi", and I've completed some soprano/alto solos from Bach Cantatas. Mozart, Brahms, Verdi, Puccini etc.

Having heard the amazing quality of the EastWest products I'm quite keen to move on to the next generation of sound production but really haven't a clue where to start. The Gold bundle has caught my eye as probably giving me the best bang for the buck. Will this suit the type of music I'm sequencing?

So some basic questions:
What capability PC must I build? i.e. processor, RAM, HDD capacity etc.
What operating system? I currently still use win2k. Not going Vista yet, better XP?
What sequencing software might suit (price is an issue).
Any other hints and tips please. Keep them clean if you can!

Please take pity on a complete newcomer to this area of sequencing.
All the best,
Known by some as
SysExJohn.

persentio
11-21-2007, 06:08 AM