PDA

View Full Version : Fl Studio?

amgeoffrey12
04-15-2005, 07:45 PM
This may be a stupid question, but i'm a newb, so bare with me :D

I'm used to using FL Studio 5 with soundfonts and wav samples to make my music, and i'm rather new to the whole samples thing. I'm thinking of buying the Silver Orchestra Edition, but i have a few questions...

1) Is it compatible with FL Studio?
2) If not, does the included software have a piano roll/sequencer?
3) Are the sound files wav or some other kind of sample format?

Thankyou so much for putting up with these newby questions, i'm very very new to the music tech biz!

neoTypic
04-15-2005, 10:02 PM
I believe FL has a VST host capabilities which would mean you could use EWQLSO. ;)

The included Kompakt host does not have any inherent sequencing capabilities (piano roll etc).

I believe they are in .nkm files which are Kontakt/Kompakt ready.

With FL it should just be as easy as loading it up as a VSTi and setting your tracks to point to it as an output.

amgeoffrey12
04-15-2005, 10:11 PM
Thanks for your help! I'll probably invest in this now!

neoTypic
04-15-2005, 10:33 PM
Sure thing!

I'll advise you now if you're using a consumer soundcard to google ASIO4All which is a generic driver that allows you to use ASIO's lower latency times through cards such as the type SoundBlaster makes which don't support ASIO natively.

Since you're somewhat new and may not know: latency is basically that delay between when you trigger a sound and when you hear it. Lower is better. 9-12ms is a a decent delay time. The higher you get the more noticeable it is. If you're playing 'live' you'll want it very low. If you're just using it for playback you can get away with higher times.

If you're looking for a cheap intro level audio card try M-Audio's 2496. You can find it for about 100$ and it'll hold yah for quite a while.

Kayamb
04-17-2005, 12:14 AM
I am also using FL Studio 5 and Silver, and it works very easily as a plugin!