PDA

View Full Version : Building computer for first time

andrewjs
04-13-2008, 11:30 AM
Hey folks,

I'm thinking about jumping into the do-it-yourself computer-building club. I've never done it before, so I'm wondering if anyone knows of a solid guide on the subject. I could probably figure a fair amount of it out, but certain things like the gluing of this to that when it's expensive electronics freaks me out a bit. How much glue, what kind of glue? Etc.

I'm going to stick to "basics" and go with an XP32 system since that is what my current hardware and software support, and I want to keep things "simple" and maybe upgrade in a couple years for a 2-machine setup with a 64-bit system when the edges get sorted out a bit in the 64-bit world.

Any advice appreciated.

-Andrew

andrewjs
04-15-2008, 11:40 AM
Hey folks,

I'm thinking about jumping into the do-it-yourself computer-building club. I've never done it before, so I'm wondering if anyone knows of a solid guide on the subject. I could probably figure a fair amount of it out, but certain things like the gluing of this to that when it's expensive electronics freaks me out a bit. How much glue, what kind of glue? Etc.

I'm going to stick to "basics" and go with an XP32 system since that is what my current hardware and software support, and I want to keep things "simple" and maybe upgrade in a couple years for a 2-machine setup with a 64-bit system when the edges get sorted out a bit in the 64-bit world.

Any advice appreciated.

-Andrew

Thanks for the many responses. Now I feel good about getting my feet wet.

j/k maybe it's better i avoid doing this.. i actually just learned about the Mac Pro 8 so I might go that route anyway. but thought it would be fun to build a cheap XP system on my own to tide me over.

Vatroslav
04-15-2008, 01:53 PM
Hey, Andrew,