PDA

View Full Version : Anther computer question


Guitarholic
04-15-2008, 01:15 PM
Whatīs the best setup for using

EastWest Goliath
EastWest MOR
EastWest SC

on Cubase 4 ?

Intel Quad6600, 8gb DDR2-800Mhz, 1 TB HD, ... WinXP 64 ... Fireface400?
Is that good enough?!

What else would I need? What do I have to take into account?

I donīt want to go super huge, Iīm a hobby composer.

Guitarholic
04-15-2008, 02:27 PM
PS: I didnīt want to spend more than 800 Euros on the system.
The system has to cover Midi only, except for guitar and vocal recordings.

persentio
04-15-2008, 04:05 PM
Im a hobby musician too and your setup sound good to me; especially since you are using a FireFace!

However I would suggest you get 4 dedicated hard disks instead of 1 1TB HDD. 1 for your OS cum core drive, and 3 for the rest of each of your libraries. This is to utilize the DFD optimally.

You'll also need a pair of studio monitors.

Last but not least, make sure Cubase 4 is supported on XP64. Choose your OS wisely; as far as I know XP64 is not as widely supported as Vista 64.

ewkarl7777
04-15-2008, 06:40 PM
"...as far as I know XP64 is not as widely supported as Vista 64."

Persentio, I don't wish to disagree with you, but it's quite the opposite. XP64 has been out for a long time and is much more supported than Vista64.

Either way, 64-bit OSs are not mainstream and you'll want to thoroughly research all hardware and software you plan on using with it.

persentio
04-15-2008, 06:57 PM
Oh. I was basing my judgement on certain hardware / software companies that didn't support 64 bit platforms in the past but are planning to support Vista 64 (Not XP 64). So I guess in the future Vista64 will be as widely supported as XP64; if not more. But yup at present, XP64 is more widely supported. Should have made that clear.:)

Nash
04-15-2008, 09:54 PM
I think any dual or quad computer with at least 4 or more GB of ram, with at least 500GB HDD or more will do a great job with no problems.

BTW, you are almost super huge with the current specs of your machine.

Cheers,

Nash

Guitarholic
04-16-2008, 01:18 AM
Well thank you for all the replies.

To answer some of the implied questions:

I already got a nice pair of Event TR8XL and Iīm also using a Beyerdynamics DT770 Pro.

Cubase 4 is supporting 64 bit technology.


I changed my HD configuration into 160 GB HD for the OS and two 500 GB HD for the libraries.

Iīm also using a TC Konnekt 24D, GuitarRig3, EZ Drummer and VSL Special Ed. (Extd.).
I could not quite find everything, but I know that the TC interface, EZ Drummer
and the VSL Special Edition will run under XP 64.

admin
04-16-2008, 09:43 AM
This belongs in "Hardware" - it's being moved.

Guitarholic
04-16-2008, 12:44 PM
Sorry!!! My fault!!!

Ulfrinn
04-18-2008, 09:25 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but i'm pretty sure Cubase 4 still doesn't support 64-bit address space. It may run under XP64 perfectly well, but it will not use all 8gigs of your RAM. That's what I was told when I presented a question about using a single powerful 64bit system with Cubase4.

Just an FYI, and again, i may be wrong about it.