PDA

View Full Version : Can I connect an Alu iMac to a G4/G5

DarkIVI
05-09-2008, 12:03 AM
Hi all,

I've been searching this forum like a madman...but I understand very little what's posted here :(
Anyway, I own a Alu iMac and want to pump the performance through connecting another mac to it.
But the question is "will an intel iMac connect to a "less" mac like a G5 or even a G4".

Thanks for your time.

Niels

A.Leung
05-09-2008, 12:11 AM
when you say connect what do you mean? For what purpose? Are you trying to use the iMac or g5 as a 'target disc'?, node? Secondary hard drive/ backup?, slave?

DarkIVI
05-09-2008, 12:15 AM
oohhh...now that's already a hard question (haha, man I'm a noob)
I will try to explain what I think I want ;) because you lost me already haha
I would like connect two (or more) macs to let them work as one computer, so that my iMac can use the processor power of the G4/G5.

I hope this is more clear.

Thank you for your quick reply.

Niels

A.Leung
05-09-2008, 01:11 AM
oohhh...now that's already a hard question (haha, man I'm a noob)
I will try to explain what I think I want ;) because you lost me already haha
I would like connect two (or more) macs to let them work as one computer, so that my iMac can use the processor power of the G4/G5.

I hope this is more clear.

Thank you for your quick reply.

Niels

Still pretty vague. I'll tell you why. Without knowing how it is you work or plan to work its difficult to advise you. In other words if someone came to me and said, "Look I have two Macs, one iMac , another one is an older second generation G5. I use Logic Pro 7 on the G5 and was wondering if I could use the iMac as a 'node' device to take off some of the burden of my G5's struggling processor. IS this even possible?" Then I could advise them on what to do and how to do it.