PDA

View Full Version : Need serious advice on iMac

Jeremy
05-13-2008, 02:26 PM
Alright, another newbie with computer questions... I know... everyone sigh and get it out of the way with! But guys/girls, I really need your HELP otherwise I wouldn't bother you. I just quit my last and final band attempt because dealing with 5 other opinions and slack attitudes isn't working for me and is seriously limiting my creativity. ENTER EW/QL. This software is by far the most inspiring musical tool I've seen since I graduated from music school. I a chomping at the bit to get started. So here is where I am (and where I need my first round of help): I am planning on using the MOR, Bass XP, and SD2 to start with but will eventually get the symphonic things as well. I need to know if shoul buy the new 3GHz 24" iMac with 4GB of Ram and 1TB of storage or should I go with a less expensive PC. In college we used all Macs but we weren't dealing with so many GB of info and processing. All of my experience and conversations so far have lead me to believe that the Macs are the simplest way to plug and play without tweaking this or adjusting that. Basically, the arguments I have heard are all super-positive in regards to the iMac and its ease of working with complex and taxing audio/video. So I jumped onto the forum last night to see if this question has been answered already only to find out that most of you are running PC's of the dual and quad-core variety. See my frustration? I don't mind spending the money on the iMac so that isn't the question. The question is, quite simply, WILL IT WORK for me? Will I be wishing I built a PC instead? If it will work, are there any considerations I need to take into account NOW so I can plan on upgrades and such. If it won't work, any suggestions on a good PC configuration will also be helpful. I just want to have one computer that works and that is really the bottom line. So, if there is anyone in here with serious advice, please reply. I am waitin