PDA

View Full Version : External Hard disk

Joza
05-23-2008, 05:26 AM
(Sorry if this has already been discussed somewhere, but in that case please just tell me and I'll try to find it.)

So Im going to buy a new sample library, maybe EWQLSO gold bundle, and in that case my laptop is running out of hard disk space as EWQL Colossus is already installed in it. So I guess this could be solved by buying a external hard disk, right? I guess something like 250-500 Gb would be plenty for me, but is there any other things that I should know when buying that. I wouldnt like to end up buying a hard disk that is for example too slow to be used with making music.

Im not a professional, so Im not exactly looking for best quality there is, but I would appreciate that it would work anyway. ;)

Oh, and once I get that, should I install all my music software (cubase and sample libraries) there?

Thanks in advance!
Joza

persentio
05-23-2008, 06:47 AM
I would recommend that you have 2 external drives; 1 for Colossus and 1 for Gold. Or, you could split Gold into the 2 external drives for even better performance for your orchestral libraries. I think installing your DAW on your laptop's HDD is ok; you don't need to install it on your external drive.

Now you need to get Firewire drives; USB HDDs are too slow. If possible you can try getting eSATA drives (faster than Firewire). Glyph (http://www.glyphtech.com/) has a range of such HDDs certified for use with digital audio that will suit your needs. You might want to look there.

Joza
05-23-2008, 07:00 AM
Thank you once again! =)

johng
05-23-2008, 12:20 PM
Definitely do NOT install the DAW on the external drive. You want the external drive to hold the samples and the boot drive on your computer to hold the software for the OS and the EWQLSO software. Having them in separate locations is critical.