PDA

View Full Version : Mac Pro, buy now or wait a couple months ?

Muziksculp
06-01-2008, 10:50 AM
Hi,

Any idea if APPLE will be introducing a new line of Mac Pros in the next two months, any rumors, or buzz about this ?

I ask this because I'm thinking of adding a second Mac Pro 8, core. with possibly faster, and more RAM capacity (64 GB instead of the current 32 GB max).

Mainly to run some of the heavy-weight sample libraries.

I'm thinking in terms of the next 3 years, since 64-bit applications, and OS will become more of a standard, and RAM prices seem to be taking a downward trend.

Would it be wiser to wait another two months, or just go ahead with the current generation of Mac Pros.

Thanks.

gstitt
06-01-2008, 11:01 AM
I would doubt there would be any huge updates, but I'm not an Apple expert. Are you really planning on putting 64 gigs of RAM into one machine? While that would be awesome, I'm not sure it would be very cost effective, at least for quite a while. I would think for the price of that memory, you could buy several machines, whose summed memory would be at least 64 gigs.

Either way, I don't think you could really go wrong with another Mac Pro right now. 2 quad cores and up to 32 gigs of memory shouldn't be obsolete for a long time, definitely not within the next three years.

Nanto Warrior
06-01-2008, 11:21 AM
Hardware depreciates as we speak. I said Id be getting a new machine for ages now. Im GLAD I didnt. Amazing monster machines are becoming cheaper, and cheaper......and cheaper.

I will make my move when the time is right and be satisfied forever.

WAIT.

Golden Warrior. :D

A.Leung
06-01-2008, 11:49 AM
NANTO, one can never be 'satisfied' forever. Todays current trend in computer technology shows that in order to remain current and near the TOP of the trend one needs a new system on an average of every two years.

Vincent Bergbahn
06-01-2008, 12:44 PM