PDA

View Full Version : Getting a new Keyboard

far_star
06-18-2008, 03:16 PM
I have a Roland XV-88 that I am considering retiring for a smaller, graded-hammer action, digital Piano/controller. Most of these don't have mod wheels so I am concerned about losing control of my recently purchased Gold Pro Bundle.

Are the mod and pitch wheels needed to get all of the articulations out of the Gold Pro bundle ? I know it may seem like a dumb question, but I am new to this.

Thanks in advance.

nzEscher
06-18-2008, 04:17 PM
In terms of playability/workflow, they are necessary, I'm currently on the market for one myself and it is amazingly difficult to find one with the features I want, the first two on the list particularly hard to come by:

Won't break down or die on me.
If it does after a few years, good customer support from the company.
88-keys
mod/pitch wheel
at least two pedal inputs that will work through midi
velocity sensitive
MIDI (Via USB ideal)
after touch a bonus, but ill buy a separate keyboard for synths if not.

The Yamaha KX8 the only one that fits, but I want one sooner than mid-august, and am worried with its heavy cubase integration it won't work with Sonar very well.

CME/Fatar have what I want in features, but their reputations are terrible. Am in the process of returning a CME VX with Cubase 4 at the moment.

MellotronGhost
06-18-2008, 04:38 PM
yes, you definitely want to have a mod wheel and pitch wheel!

persentio
06-18-2008, 04:38 PM
Hi far star,

The Mod Wheel either controls the Filter or Crossfades of certain patches, and the Pitch Bend Wheel does not control any Articulations either. Articulation controls are done using Keyswitches. However having said that these 2 controllers can definitely allow you to come up with more realistic performances using the articulations or Crossfade patches; so yes to get the most out of your VIs, get a keyboard with a Pitch Bend and Mod wheel. Most 88 key keyboards come with them now.

LGK_Dude