PDA

View Full Version : Adding more drives to setup


GtrJazz
06-24-2008, 05:07 PM
So I am adding more drives to my main daw next week. Will I need more than a 550w power supply? 2 of the drives will be using Esata. Im just worried my computer might over heat. Im using the cosmos 1000 case and all drives are 250gig seagates.

My setup will be as follows :

Drive: 1 strings/Bass
Drive: 2 brass/Guitar
Drive: 3 Woodwinds
Drive: 4 Percussion/Drums
Drive: 5 Piano
Drive: 6 Symhonic Choirs/synths
Drive: 7 System drive

drive: 8 firewire WD mybook for saving.

A.Leung
06-24-2008, 06:01 PM
u dont say what platform. Heres how I got over 4 terabytes in one of our MAc Pro systems:

http://www.maxupgrades.com/istore/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&product_id=158

If PC make sure you provide for extra fans/ventilation.

GtrJazz
06-24-2008, 06:12 PM
u dont say what platform. Heres how I got over 4 terabytes in one of our MAc Pro systems:

http://www.maxupgrades.com/istore/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&product_id=158

If PC make sure you provide for extra fans/ventilation.

Thanks Allan

I'm using PC and nuendo 3. How many fans do I need? And is 550w enough?

A.Leung
06-24-2008, 06:51 PM
AFAIK the Cosmos 1000 case comes with all the fans except maybe an HDD fan. For that a 120x120x25 mm will be sufficient.

GtrJazz
06-24-2008, 07:50 PM
AFAIK the Cosmos 1000 case comes with all the fans except maybe an HDD fan. For that a 120x120x25 mm will be sufficient.

Thanks Allan I was worried I would have to replace my power supply. Do you know if it would be possible to hook up the 2 esata drives in another empty computer case instead of buying individual enclousures? I was hoping to build a gigastudio slave and was hoping I could just use the empty drive cage space by installing my main daw's 2 exra drves.