PDA

View Full Version : Problems with 8GB RAM and audio


dumbarranger56
06-26-2008, 05:01 PM
System:

FIRST - If you can help - GREAT-

IF NOT - Don't let this happen to you.
Once I find the solution, it may help many of you who are building 64 bit DAWS

GIGABYTE mobo - MA790X-D4 with AMD Phenom 9852 CPU and 8 GB of OCV RAM - approved by the mobo manufacturer. M-Audio 1010LT card, Windows XP pro 64

With 4 GB of RAM - no problem (except the obvious limitations)

When I put in theother 4 - everything ran well for about 15 minutes, then I got a non-stop machine gun sound through my surround sound speakers. When I turned off the Audio engine, sound stopped. Closed Sonar - sound stopped. Opened other audio apps (media player, etc) - machine gun returned.

Then it stopped -and with it ALL audio. Took out 4 GB - everything was fine again. Added up to 8GB - no audio. Switched around RAM sticks in every which way - they all worked as sets of 4GB - no set up with 8GB.

I did tweak the services according to a website, then lost the website. I may have tweaked something that stops the audio with the 8GB.

ewkarl7777
06-26-2008, 06:50 PM
I am NOT a hardware guru.

Since no one had answered you I decided to do a quick Google search and found this:


http://www.houseofhelp.com/v3/showth...gabyte+X38-DS5

and

http://www.houseofhelp.com/v3/showthread.php?t=69333

Something about your motherboard and problems accessing 4 ram slots. I hope this helps you and the
other 55 dumbarrangers. :)

Good luck

dumbarranger56
07-05-2008, 01:25 PM
the soundcard - I am using the 1010lt and it can only access 4GB. SO I may have to buy a new sound card OR wait for the gfeniuses at M-Audio to release a better driver.

Keithho
07-19-2008, 08:20 PM
If i remember correct, m audio have no 64bits driver.... ehhh...

persentio
07-19-2008, 11:18 PM
They do have some 64-bit drivers available now for some of their products.

dumbarranger56
07-20-2008, 02:34 PM
thanks to both of you. I have been accepted to the M-Audio beta testing program - SO - they may have an unreleased beta that solves this problem, but they will not tell me until I send back the forms saying that, while using their betas, if my maschine blows up and kills me, my cat, or dog, I will not sue them or haunt them for life (or death, depending upon which side one looks at it). NONETHELESS

I will keep all posted.

If they have no beta, looks like another 700 beans for a goos audio card/USB/Firewire, whatever. This is getting more expensive by the minute!

persentio
07-20-2008, 05:15 PM
Cool! Any idea if they have 64-bit drivers soon for their MIDI keyboards?

dumbarranger56
07-23-2008, 02:24 PM
No info yet - but I will share info as I can (except for the stuff I am sworn to secrecy about)!

Spinning poo machine
07-23-2008, 03:54 PM
(except for the stuff I am sworn to secrecy about)!

Lol.