PDA

View Full Version : Gonna try to Overclock E8400


dexterwheeler
07-08-2008, 01:46 PM
Hey guys so I wanna build a slave in a few months and I'm gonna try to overclock it. I will be lapping the E8400 and the heatsink and try to oc to 3.6. I heard this should keep it stable. I'm wondering if anyone else has successfully overclocked and kept their machine stable? I'm not looking for a extreme speed just a little more than stock.

A.Leung
07-08-2008, 01:49 PM
ive overclocked many systems. Burned a couple out to.

Your mileage may vary.

dexterwheeler
07-08-2008, 01:52 PM
but a oc from 3.0 to 3.6 isn't that extreme is it? And how quick have your systems burned out? And were they pushed to the limit?

MUSE
07-14-2008, 11:27 AM
Dex,
dont go after GHZ thing, what you need to look at is what ram do you have.
If ram is 800mhz set the FSB to 1600 (E8400 has 1333)so it'll be 1:1 ratio with ram, run stress test and see if it fails and dont bring up the voltage unless its unstable. So in general you'l get about 3.6 ghz pc which is plenty and would handle anything you'll throw at it.

GtrJazz
07-14-2008, 04:06 PM
thanks muse. So it's the ram I wanna Overclock?

MUSE
07-14-2008, 08:25 PM
Nope its not the ram you're boosting, what I mean is the ram you'll get its either 677mhz or 800 and more etc, leave it as it is but match the FSB 1:1 ratio. I wont be able to explain everything here, best bet is to go to PCMECH dot COM forum and read on it tons of info about building and ocing your new PC. Thats where I've learned how to twick PC and plus it all depence on load, if its 24/7 machine or only during projects all in all I wouldnt OC it like crazy. You want it to be reliable and stable for a long time.

GtrJazz
07-14-2008, 09:21 PM
Thanks muse. I think I understand what you mean about the ratio. Im just not sure how the CPU speed of 1333 and ram speed of 800 mhz = 1:1

MUSE
07-15-2008, 08:03 AM
Thanks muse. I think I understand what you mean about the ratio. Im just not sure how the CPU speed of 1333 and ram speed of 800 mhz = 1:1
Hah there you go mistake No1 :p 1333FSB=677RAM speed 1600=800ram so dont waste your money on more expencive ram like 1060 you'll never reach that speed with processor or you'll burn it sooner than you wish even on watter cooling. So get E8400 which is 1333 get the ram like GSKill 800mhz and OC your chip to 1600 FSB=3.6GHZ and woilaaa stable and reliable machine right there.

GtrJazz
07-16-2008, 09:56 AM
thanks muse now that all makes sense. So with the Q9450 which is 1333FSB I should have got the 667mhz ram since I don't plan on overclocking thr CPU? Or would 800mhz be better since I wont OC the Q9450?

MUSE
07-18-2008, 12:22 PM
thanks muse now that all makes sense. So with the Q9450 which is 1333FSB I should have got the 667mhz ram since I don't plan on overclocking thr CPU? Or would 800mhz be better since I wont OC the Q9450?

It all depence on your MOBO, some boards auto adjust the ram speed based on FSB. In yor case I'd still OC that sucker to 3.2ghz or so to make it 1600, if not then play with cas latency of the ram you have in BIOS. For instance if its 5-5-5-14 try to change it to 4-4-4-12 since you're downgrading MHZ speed of the ram it should allow you to upgrade latency, tweak it untill your PC is stable dont be afraid just dont mess with voltage of CPU. Hope it helps