PDA

View Full Version : Working With Sibelius

Thomas Kresge
07-28-2008, 01:10 PM
As a composer, I do essentially all of my writing in Sibelius (version 5.2, to be exact). I purchased EWQLSO Platinum Pro XP, but I'm having some trouble getting it all to work with Sibelius. I was hoping that somebody here could give me some answers to my problems.

1. In Sibelius, I'm able to load the VSTs and then assign instruments to the different staffs in my score. Do actually get a sound to go with the score, though, I have to open up Kompakt from Sibelius and then assign the sounds to the eight channels (slots) corresponding to the channels that Sibelius assigned them. When doing this, I'm able to write in music just fine. Of course, it's a little tedious trying to assign instruments individually to channels designated by Sibelius, but it works for now. Hopefully there's some way around this? I have been trying to figure out Sibelius's sound set maker, and hopefully that will help me out.

2. This is the major problem: keyswitches. Is there a way to make them work? For example, how do I set things up so that if I mark "pizz." in my score, the violins will switch to playing pizzicato, and then back to bowing when I write in "arco"?

3. Finally, is there any way to make EWQLSO work with Sibelius's included version of Kontakt 2 so that I don't have to use Kompakt?

4. I'm considering just leaving Sibelius purely for notation and then getting a sequencer to make playback recordings, as that seems to be the better choice. Given that I make this choice, what are some good, user-friendly sequencers that I should look at purchasing?

Any help on any of these matters would be greatly appreciated!

Djoule
07-28-2008, 01:20 PM
I was wondering the same things !
Now that I got my EW Orchestra I'd like to make it work with Sibelius and encountered the same issues, but could not put all of them in english words, so I'm glad you asked this and hope that there will be answers ! :p

peter5992