PDA

View Full Version : SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS for the Complete Composer's Collection

LMG
07-31-2008, 06:55 AM
Hi guys! I'm a newbie to PC sampling. I have always worked with Korgs synthesizers with their buil-in sequencers. Buy now I'm getting temptated with real sampligs.

My doubt is the following: I'm interested in buying the Complete Composer's Collection.
I have checked the system requirements and they are the following:

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
130GB Free Hard Disc Space, DVD Drive

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS (for Native Instruments software) Win XP, Pentium III/Athlon 1 GHz, 1 GB RAM, DVD drive
Mac OS X 10.2.6*, G4 800 MHz, 1 GB, DVD drive

RECOMMENDED SYSTEM (for Sound Library) Win XP, Pentium IV/Athlon 3 GHz, 2 GB FREE RAM, DVD drive
Mac OS X 10.3*, G5 1.8 GHz, 2 GB RAM, DVD drive

Now, I've read old threads saying "I have 8 GB RAM, is that enough?". I mean, where talking about some other software? Because here it says 2 GB recommended.

Anyway, if someone could give me a detailed computer configuration (Hard Drive, RAM, processor, sound card) and tell me "with this computer you won't have bouncing; you won't have any problems" I would really appreciate it!!

I don't want MINIMUM system requirements advice. I want the RECOMMENDED ones, since I don't want to have performance problems. (anyway I have a low budget so, tell me the cheapest configuration but with good performance.)

Remember I need to run the Complete Composer's Collection. Thank you.

johng
07-31-2008, 12:53 PM
Many people use between two and eight computers to run the whole library. You need a tremendous amount if you want to run a full, virtual orchestra. The "Recommended" settings will allow you to have some fun, but you would still have to record, say, your brass to audio, then load up strings, record them, then percussion, then winds, if you have a really full orchestration with lots of different articulations (legato, staccato, and so on).