PDA

View Full Version : RA -AND- SD [or] RA -OR- SD?

Oak
07-01-2009, 02:04 PM
I'm kinda new to the play engine so forgive me if im asking a noob Question. Forgive how my "terminology" might come across as well....I was just sort of wondering if when I have both EWQL SD and RA installed, and running at the same time separately? I've noticed that in the settings, it offers a "default" interface [if you will]. IE: I can use the RA "faceplate" or the SD "faceplate"... I haven't taken too much time to see if I can open the SD files on the RA "faceplate"

I would prefer to have one instance of SD and RA open "Per instrument" just cus that would be more easy for me... thats just sort of how im used to doing things... Is that an option or am I just sort of stuck using the RA or SD play "interface" with multiple instruments being loaded in that interface, up to a point where my computer cant handle it anymore...

Like for example, with NI Silver... it would allow up to something like 10 instruments, then I had to open a new instance of NI, if I wanted more. Does play work sort of the same way but like with "unlimited" instruments? I just want to keep track of what instance of RA and SD has what instruments loaded. Thatís the big thing, and I want to be sure I could use both at the same time.

And I guess wile im at it... [forgive me for so many questions] What "play" interface do you guys prefer? IE: the EWQL orchestra interface as opposed to the RA or SD interface?* **IF you can "swap" interfaces that the play engine uses of course!**

I should also mention that I'm using Sonar 5... and I know that the system requirements want something like sonar 7... but I donít have $249 to spend right now. And RA/SD do work with Sonar 5. Im just sort of also wondering if I upgrade to a higher version of Sonar, would I not have these "face plate" problems? IE: as of now It seems as if I can only use RA -OR- SD "faceplate" to run the play engine... and ONLY one instance of each.