PDA

View Full Version : professional musicians and Ear Training

Adambomb337
05-02-2005, 02:47 PM
I'm a beginner in music composition. Do you have any advice for what you wish you learned first or did first?

Also, do you know of any good websites or books/CDs that would help train my ear for notes, chords,... What's the best way to do this?

Composer
05-02-2005, 06:56 PM
Hello,

I too am a beginner in composition - a composition student off at college. I can't offer much sagely advice about composition, but I do happen to know quite a lot about ear training, and I believe that I've found the best way to train! I took two sight singing classes at a community college that were completely absolutely useless, and it taught me that there is, indeed, wrong ways to train your ears. When I got to Berklee I had an epiphany about schools - that Berklee is not so popular because of its location, or faculty, or facilities, or alumni, but because it was actually a good school and knew how to teach its students.

The community college tried to teach me to train my ears by simpling looking at notes and trying to sing them by guessing their relation completely out of the blue. They even had me relate intervals to songs, which is one of the most useless things you can do because its a stupid and uneffective way to learn sight singing. "What are you going to do," my Berklee professor said of this approach, "sing every interval 100 times a day for 5 years? No, that's ridiculous."

You need to learn each scale degree in relation to the tonic. If you are in the key of C and you hear the intervals C to E you should not be thinking, "Oh, that was a major third because 'When the Saints Come Marching In' starts with a major third." - you should be thinking, "Oh, that was the root and then the third." It is so much easier and so much more effective.