PDA

View Full Version : Choral piece by Duruflé, my East-West debut

TGV
01-29-2010, 09:44 AM
Hi,

I'm new to East-West Quantum Leap, and after quite a few installation problems I finished my first piece. It's one of my favorite choral pieces, Ubi caritas et amor, by the French composer Maurice Duruflé for SATTBB choir. Wikipedia has more background information (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ubi_caritas). The text in Latin:
Ubi caritas et amor, Deus ibi est.
Congregavit nos in unum Christi amor.
Exultemus, et in ipso iucundemur.
Timeamus, et amemus Deum vivum.
Et ex corde diligamus nos sincero.
Ubi caritas et amor, Deus ibi est.
Amen.

The English translation:
Where charity and love are, God is there.
Christ's love has gathered us into one.
Let us rejoice and be pleased in Him.
Let us fear, and let us love the living God.
And may we love each other with a sincere heart.
Where charity and love are, God is there.
Amen.

It wasn't easy to render: computer power, trying to get the syllables to connect (some still sound too disconnected), uneven volumes in the bass voice, and a very odd 11kHz beep in one of the tenor syllables. Anyway, I overcame them, rendered them separately and added an external reverb.

You can listen to it here (http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_songInfo.cfm?bandID=1010136&songID=8693375).

I hope you enjoy it.

Halvor_H
01-29-2010, 10:26 AM
Nice work! You have clearly worked quite a bit on this one. :)

Some thoughts; I would probably try to soften the transitions between the syllables a bit. Maybe some crossfading between the last and first letters in adjacent words/syllables could do the trick. Also, with the all reverb the sibilant sounds are getting a bit too prominent.

boulifb
01-29-2010, 10:49 AM
Very good work!
At last another good demo of the capabilities of EWQLSC.

Here is another demo I have done last november: O Fortuna (http://www.box.net/shared/5adhs8e8oy) from Carmina Burana by Carl Orff.

Cheers!

Fred.

TGV
01-30-2010, 01:55 AM