PDA

View Full Version : G5 Dual 1.8 5GB Ram - Platinum ?


Phillip
05-05-2005, 09:19 PM
Hello Everyone,

How are you ? Fine I hope. ;-)

G5 Dual 1.8 5GB Ram 160GB Boot Drive, 300GB second internal SATA drive.

Is this a strong enough CPU setup to work basically with EWQLSO Platinum ?

ToddK
05-05-2005, 11:03 PM
If you work in a program that makes rendering instruments to wave file, easy
and fast, then you could use Platinum with half those specs.

I know people running Platinum on a lesser system, put it that way.:)

TK

Phillip
05-06-2005, 12:04 AM
Hello ToddK,

How are you ? Fine I hope. ;-)

Thanks for your reply.

So, what you are saying is that I could at least work with a full string section of Platinum in real time ? :confused:

ToddK
05-06-2005, 12:31 AM
Yes, i believe you could do that.

Especially if you plan to use Kontakt 2 to run it. I run Gold in it, and its
very very good. I'm getting a ton of polyphony.

Of course Platinum is bigger, but i think you could do pretty big sections real time.

It depends on how crazy you go on the mic mixing. The trick is, when you're writing
and tweaking your midi, just use the stage mics, and dont worry about adding
far and close mic samples until you're ready to render and move on.
In this way, its almost like running Gold, but in 24 bit.

You can always go back and redo a render if you dont like the mic mix.
K2 has a cool purge function that lets you keep all patches in the rack, but
you can get rid of memory/voices you're not using. Then reload them if you
want or need to. TOns better than having to delete them, and then go search for
them later. "what patch did i use for that??)


Platinum is absolutely stunning. I say go for it.

If not, i can tell you, Gold is really fab as well. :) Im in love with it....

TK

LHall
05-06-2005, 06:11 AM
Hi Phillip,

I have Platinum. I run my strings and perc on one 2.8 ghz PC which is probably comparable to your 1.8 ghz G5. I only use one mic setting at a time and usually have good results unless I have lots of very dense fast passages in the vioins or something like that.

I don't believe you will be able to do strings, perc, brass, and winds all in real time on one computer unless the arrangements are very simple. The nice thing is, if you run out of power on your Mac, you can always add a PC very cheaply to put part of the library on.