PDA

View Full Version : Orchestral Emulation not possible in Pro Tools?!

dubaifox
05-10-2005, 09:52 PM
My name is Paul. I am a Pro Tools LE user.

Over the past year I have been getting into some work that requires use of some of the excellent orchestral emulation programs. I am wanting to take it to the next level but not sure where to turn. I need to make a move in about a month on a system that will give me more power.

1.Giga not available for Mac. We all know that.

2. I bought GPO, loved it, but quickly found out that is does not work the way it should in LE. You only get about 30% or 40% of the tracks you would get if you are using DP, Logic, Sonar or Nuendo. Rumors of updates swirl but I have ben waiting for over a year so I am not holding my breath anymore.

3.There is a well documented problem with Native Instruments plugs with Pro Tools. A few weeks ago there was a post from Doug, that the new Kompakt interface shipping with RA and Collosuss is now Pro Tools friendly, and that it will be available for all other EWQL programs. On this news I bought the Platinum Strings library, with the intent of buying a second G5 Mac to connect to my Dual 1.25 to make a decent set-up to drive Platinum.

I am worried that I have not heard any mention of this “update” anywhere and I can’t seem to find anyone who has RA or Collossus to verify or deny that this new update will finally allow us to use EWQL programs in Pro Tools LE.

Should I just cut bait and buy two PC’s and Sonar to run Platinum?

I have read enough posts to know that adding a PC to my MAC will create many headaches and complications. I want any easy, stramlined hastle free set-up that works.

Any advice?

Evan
05-10-2005, 10:26 PM
I know if I had a mac I would get Digital Performer as my main sequencer, but sorry im no help with your other questions.

dubaifox
05-10-2005, 10:33 PM
I know if I had a mac I would get Digital Performer as my main sequencer, but sorry im no help with your other questions.