PDA

View Full Version : Best quality for Plt+ Versions

HardyP
09-05-2012, 06:30 AM
Allready posted in General Forum, but in order to bring it to the official place:

As far as I know, Plugins know if the Sequenzer is bouncing in "Realtime" or "Offline".
So I would like a standard routine in PLAY, that even if you are playing in 16-bit (for the reason of low latency), PLAY switches automatically to the 24-bit samples if it comes to mixdown (in offline modus).

This preferred workflow will help me, and can keep EWs quality goal.

Jose7822
09-05-2012, 10:51 PM
I'm not a programmer, but that may be impossible to achieve. What you ask requires PLAY to halt the bouncing process in order to load the 24 bit samples, then tell the DAW (whatever you may be using) to start bouncing once it finishes loading the new samples. Not only that but, most likely, you'll want it to go back to the 16 bit samples once it's done bouncing, right? Well, the huge problem here is that this will most likely require cooperation from the DAW manufacturer as well. As you know, there are many of them out there.

And that's not taking into account that, perhaps, this project barely plays well with the 16 bit samples loaded, which is the reason why you're using them (to minimize system stress in order to play more samples). Assuming this is the case, what do you think will happen when you load the 24 bit files? Your system will start dropping samples left and right, rendering the bounce file useless. Your processor will probably be able to keep up, but not your HDDs. They are the bottlenecks these days, even if using SSD's. All this depends on how heavy the project is, of course. But I assume a programmer would likely think of the worst case scenario before considering implementing a feature.

Again, I may be wrong about all this, in which case I wouldn't mind being corrected.

HardyP
09-06-2012, 01:56 AM
I