PDA

View Full Version : Ability to resize GUI


peter5992
11-14-2012, 12:05 PM
Good morning:

I have a rather small feature request (or is it?): I'd like to be able to resize the GUI of Play. Right now it is huge, taking up a large chunk of my screen. Sometime I just want to take a look at, say, the piano keys to make sure it's actually working etc.

jspencer
11-14-2012, 01:10 PM
Great request! I'm pretty sure you can drag the GUI size to reveal only the keys (?)

I'd also like to be able to enlarge the GUI.

Jose7822
11-14-2012, 01:41 PM
+1 Definitely!

Jeff Hayat
11-14-2012, 04:28 PM
+1 to this.

Morten Gjermundsen
11-14-2012, 05:00 PM
+1

peter5992
11-14-2012, 06:40 PM
Great request! I'm pretty sure you can drag the GUI size to reveal only the keys (?)

I'd also like to be able to enlarge the GUI.

No - I can drag it all the way down, or to the side, but the only part of the GUI I can grab is at the top.

It's not a life or death thing, and I could probably solve it with a second screen (but I'm working wth one screen right now), but I'd be nice to have.

jspencer
11-15-2012, 06:59 PM
If you have a video card that supports dual display, run out and get a second monitor...they are fairly cheap these days. Trust me, you will love it. I can't imagine going back to a single.

christerholm
11-16-2012, 01:47 AM
I still work on one 1280x1024 screen :) No problems.

pkm
11-16-2012, 02:41 AM
I use 3 right now,but I would love to have five eventually. Mixer, arrange, piano roll, video, plugins. I would love to see a condensed play window too.

gstitt
11-16-2012, 12:47 PM
Adding monitors is definitely addictive, especially if you remote desktop to multiple machines. I also can't image going back.

peter5992
01-28-2013, 04:33 PM
To follow up on this, in Reaper it is actually possible to redraw the GUI such that only a small portion of the Play interface is visible, and then you can scroll up / down to eg only display the piano keys.

But it'd still be nice to resize the play GUI.

(I wish I had a bit more disk space btw, got this small computer desk and it's pretty cluttered with a new mixing interface, my desktop DAW etc; saving for a bigger desk).

interpolate
01-29-2013, 03:37 AM
I recently went back to a single monitor for the sake of space, so went from a 17" and 19" display to a single 24" display. This doesn't really cause me many issues as I use a larger resolution in place of more screen real estate.

jspencer
01-29-2013, 01:13 PM
The problem is, you still have the same amount of space. I can't imagine going back to a single monitor! Sonar sucks without the second deisplay IMO.

interpolate
01-29-2013, 03:27 PM
I find it OK but if I worked with multiple VST's over the place a second monitor would be useful. I tell I want to solve, when you can't input numbers into plug-ins as they lose focus and it switches screen display. Is there anyway to turn this on and off, because it's driving me absolutely bonkers.

interpolate
01-29-2013, 03:34 PM
Well before I had 1280x1024 on each monitor, so 2560x2048 overall when windows were spread.

I currently use a 1920x1080 resolution. So I'm losing 21% screen estate however I think with the skylight interface, this is not such a problem once you get used too it. It's just the plug-in losing focus that's driving a bit mad. It seems to be whenever you press the number keys this happens.