PDA

View Full Version : Stormdrum Question

Vissequ
05-21-2005, 09:30 PM
Hello,

I apologize for my newbie-ish question, but I wanted to be sure of this before I bought Stormdrum. I am new to the software synth scene, my first and only software synth is EWQL Symphonic Orchestra Silver (which I absolutely love). I understand that Stormdrum comes with spectacular loops, but does it also come with each individual percussion instrument as a sample so I can make my own loops with the sounds? (If you'll excuse my newbie language) Basically, can I use my MIDI controller to play the various percussion instruments individually and then combine them to make my own loops with the Stormdrum library?

One more question:

I have an iMac G5 with 1.8Ghz and 1024 MB RAM. It can handle around 10 SO (Symph Orchestra) instruments perfectly, and then after about 18 I have to start bouncing some of the MIDI tracks to audio. Will I still be able to run around 10 SO instruments and the Stormdrum loops without any problems?

Thank you very much and I apologize if this question as already been asked (I tried a search but found no previous posts).

Connor

neoTypic
05-21-2005, 09:39 PM
I can't offer advice on your Mac setup, but I can tell you that yes, StormDrum is broken into two sections: the first are multisampled hits on the different instruments, and the second loops. The first is on it's own Kompakt engine I believe (like your EWQLSO) and the second part in an Intakt engine (very much like Kompakt).

Vissequ
05-21-2005, 09:44 PM
I can't offer advice on your Mac setup, but I can tell you that yes, StormDrum is broken into two sections: the first are multisampled hits on the different instruments, and the second loops. The first is on it's own Kompakt engine I believe (like your EWQLSO) and the second part in an Intakt engine (very much like Kompakt).

Well that settles it. I'm buying Stormdrum, lol.
Thanks for your answer, and my wallet will remain empty. :)

neoTypic