PDA

View Full Version : A Silver question


SergeD
05-22-2005, 10:09 AM
Hi,

The Silver sale is very attractive. Though, some questions are looping in my mind.

First of all. Are all demos showed in the Silver page exclusively from the Silver library with any reverb added ? In some demos we hear the pizzicato string articulation which is not listed for the Silver version. the Journey, Berlin and Alice are some examples containing this articulation.

Is a AMD 1.4 with 1 gig ram will work decently with silver for an intensive orchestral mockup ?


Is the panning similar to Gold and Platinum ? Since it's a close captation I presume that this panning may be configurable without altering the stereo phasing of the samples ?

It' not easy to find mockups combining Silver with any other dry library, any link to submit ? i own AO and try to imagine how to mix an AO woods section with a String silver section.

thanks,

SergeD

Sean R. Beeson
05-22-2005, 10:35 AM
SergeD,

I am the person who wrote Alice, and the demo contains only articulations from silver and everything you hear in that demo comes straight from the silver kompkat player :) There is a few pizzicato patches in silver too. You can pan the instruments quite easily in the kompakt player and the overall sonar quality of the piece is preserved, so you don't have to worry about phasing.

I created the piece with an Athlon 2800+ with 1 gig of ram, but as for finding demos that feature silver and other dry libraries? Someone else might have better input for that. I usually don't find a need to use something else :) Silver really is a great product for the price, you won't be disappointed.

Sean

loogoo
05-22-2005, 12:07 PM
The pizzicato you hear is all by itself in the large ensemble strings section. Basically the full range of pizz strings in one patch.

If you search around on this forum you will find other demos done exclusively with Silver that are really quite stunning. Silver is a very good basic library and doesn't require a super computer setup to run. As your needs grow you can always upgrade to Gold or Platinum. The Silver Pro edition will add a lot more flexibility to an already excellent product and I recommend it as well.

Neilfactory
05-22-2005, 12:52 PM
First of all. Are all demos showed in the Silver page exclusively from the Silver library with any reverb added

For ewample, i made "ANGEL'S FLY" on demo silver and all strings and reverb are coming of Silver edition.My config is P4, 2.8 ghz, 1024 DDR 400, SATA 7200.

Honestly, you should be go for this price!It's amazing.But when you see Gold too...50%!

Neil.

SergeD
05-22-2005, 04:05 PM
The pizzicato you hear is all by itself in the large ensemble strings section. Basically the full range of pizz strings in one patch.


loogoo,

does it means that pizz cannot be used with violas or cellos specifically ? when you hit this articulation you have all the strings section playing together ?

Sean you're demo has been what it caught my hears some time ago when the woodwinds demos seemed under represented in the Qlso library. it still one of my favorites.

Neil, i listened your pieces on the other NS forum and you are very talented.

Oh, some last questions have arised,

Is the sampler has a capture to disk feature like GigaStudio ?

It' s not a stand alone application so do i need VST adapter to use more than one instance in my Cakewalk home studio sequencer ? or the Dxi way should works fine ?

can we set up and saves configurations for each instance opened ? Like one instance for strings, one for brass etc...

my computer does not have a DvD reader. it is possible to put the contents on Cd's and install the all thing on the computer ?

thanks again,

SergeD

Sean R. Beeson
05-22-2005, 04:24 PM
SergeD,

Thanks for your comments about Alice. :) I wrote the piece in response to a lot of people saying that silver's woodwinds were not that good. I have found them to be superb and flexible, and I hope that the demo shows them in this manner.

Is the sampler has a capture to disk feature like GigaStudio ?
You can bounce the MIDI to audio through a sequencer, and it works painlessly!

It' s not a stand alone application so do i need VST adapter to use more than one instance in my Cakewalk home studio sequencer ? or the Dxi way should works fine ?
You can run it as a stand alone application, but you can also use it as a VST, DXi, Au, RTAS. Dxi works fine in Cakewalk programs, and you can a couple of instances opened at the same time.

can we set up and saves configurations for each instance opened ? Like one instance for strings, one for brass etc...
You can save your personal configurations as a multi, which can be reloaded at any time.

my computer does not have a DvD reader. it is possible to put the contents on Cd's and install the all thing on the computer ?
Hmmmm. I am not sure about this. It would be rather hard. There are files on the DVD that are larger than a CD in size. You might have to break it into a few pieces. Someone else might know more about this.

Hope this helps,
Sean

Neilfactory
05-22-2005, 04:34 PM
Hi Serge,

Thank you for your comment.

Is the sampler has a capture to disk feature like GigaStudio ?
It's KOMPAKT player a really good and stable interface by Native Instrument, very simple.The SILVER EDITION of the EASTWEST/QUANTUM LEAP SYMPHONIC ORCHESTRA comes as a VIRTUAL INSTRUMENT which includes a high-performance NATIVE INSTRUMENTS interface powered by the efficient KONTAKT audio engine.
It' s not a stand alone application so do i need VST adapter to use more than one instance in my Cakewalk home studio sequencer ? or the Dxi way should works fine ?
It's stand alone or:
>COMPATIBILITY
WIN (VST®2.0, DXi2™, ASIO™, MME™, Direct Sound™, **RTAS™) MAC (VST®2.0, ASIO™, Soundmanager™, OMS™, Audio Units™, Core Audio™, ***RTAS™)

can we set up and saves configurations for each instance opened ? Like one instance for strings, one for brass etc...
YES.

my computer does not have a DvD reader. it is possible to put the contents on Cd's and install the all thing on the computer ?
I don't think, but mail to EastWest.
More info for comparaison of EWQLSO.>>>
http://www.soundsonline.com/EWQLSO_Comparison.pdf

Neil.

Neilfactory
05-22-2005, 04:35 PM
My god!
Two persons for you Serge!


Neil.

loogoo
05-22-2005, 07:51 PM
[QUOTE=SergeD]loogoo,

does it means that pizz cannot be used with violas or cellos specifically ? when you hit this articulation you have all the strings section playing together ?

Yes, but it depends on what note you are playing. You will have, from the bottom up, basses, then basses and cellos, cellos and violas, violas and violins, and violins alone - depending on the range of the instrument - you won't have a bass playing G above high C or violin playing lower than its normal range. This is similar to your basic General MIDI patch of "pizzicato strings" - except of course that it sounds much better. The Pro upgrade will have pizz samples specifically for each section as well as solo instruments which will certainly lend more flexibility to the library.

songwolf
05-22-2005, 11:48 PM
INSTALLING SILVER WITHOUT DVD DRIVE

You should have no problems. I recently installed Silver on my laptop which does not have a DVD deck. I simply copied the libraries to an external hard drive, using another computer with a DVD deck. Then I copied the libraries from the external hard drive to my laptop.

If you do not want to go via an external hard drive, i.e. you want to use CDs, you will need to split the libraries into smaller chunks (and then reassemble them on your laptop's hard drive). There is an excellent freeware app called "File Splitter". I can send it to you if you don't find it on the Net. The operation is simple and painless...

COMPUTING POWER AND SILVER

I recently created a mockup of a big piece for choir and orchestra, using a relatively weak computer: 1 Gig processor and 512MB of RAM. I worked in Logic 4.8, under XP.

Logic crashed a number of times -- I solved that problem by using only one instance of Kompakt at a time, with, as you know, a maximum of eight articulations. In order to hear the other instruments at the same time, I simply bounced them individually (i.e. " rendered" them) and placed them in multi-tracks, which of course requires much less computing power, even with 60+ tracks running simultaneously.

This did not slow down the work significantly, or interfere with creative flow. I am extremely pleased with the result.

I even found that there was one big advantage in bouncing each track as I finished adjusting and articulating it: the result was stable, I could be certain that the computer would not carry out sly little changes behind my back :D

Whenever I wanted to make some change in the middle of a track that had already been bounced, it was a simple matter to reopen the set of articulations used for that particular instrument, and record just the section in question.

Cheers,
Songwolf

dcoscina
05-23-2005, 07:52 AM
I think it's great that Silver is now going for the equivelant of what GPO is listing for during their "succuessful" group buy. If I were a newcomer, I know I would choose Silver (again). I've already said why on other threads.

SergeD
05-23-2005, 05:08 PM
Thanks everyone for the clarifications,

Songwolf,

Nice suggestion leading to some thoughts. My girlfriend has a Mac with a DVD unit. I'll try the last Stuffit version which allows to compress files on several Cds in zip format, that should resolve this problem.

dcoscina,

I also heard some very good demos from GPO but i love the sound of Silver and there is a french expression that says "Le coeur a ses raisons que la raison ne connait pas".

SergeD

Rodney Stark
05-23-2005, 07:59 PM
Shut the hell up already, dcoscina. We already know you're an EWQLSO fanboy, and I'm sure Doug and Nick don't need you sucking up to them.

neoTypic
05-23-2005, 10:23 PM
Shut the hell up already, dcoscina. We already know you're an EWQLSO fanboy, and I'm sure Doug and Nick don't need you sucking up to them.
Play nice boys.

POL
05-24-2005, 10:45 AM
You can not go wrong with silver.

SergeD
05-24-2005, 11:27 AM
Well I placed my order this morning...

There is only one thing that bugging me. With GigaStudio there's no fussing, you load it as stand alone with all the instruments and from the sequencer you select your instruments within
the 16 channels. So in channel 1 you can use the piccolo and further select a tuba with a patch change assignation. With the Giga capture to disk feature things remain simple and there is no interaction between applications.

So, It is possible with Kompakt to select among the instruments among a pool or can we only load instruments assigned to channels ?

Now, silver is only 8 slot channels and loading it as a stand alone mode is irrelevant since it's impossible to load silver twice in this manner. I hate to deal with black boxes like plugins and hope that whatever VST or DXI will be used I will not waste my time on the Net to fix things up.

Thanks everybody, :)

SergeD

songwolf
05-24-2005, 11:51 AM
Well Serge, I believe that the artist among other things has to have a certain amount of patience! That's what creativity is all about...

Silver is well worth a few dollars and a bit of patience. Everytime you find yourself struggling because of some VST "black box" or other, just remind yourself that a 2-hour recording session with a decent orchestra would be costing you much much much more... I know, I've been there!

And I can assure you, there are solutions out there for most of the technical problems we all encounter. You don't want to spend time on the Net, you say... maybe you weren't around in the days when there WAS no Net! No computers. No samplers. No sequencers. Just tape machines that cost Big Bucks... and that needed overhauling and adjusting... I could go on for hours :cool:

Songwolf

SergeD
05-24-2005, 12:36 PM
maybe you weren't around in the days when there WAS no Net! No computers. No samplers. No sequencers.
Songwolf


I'm a programmer since 1985 and the thing I've learn is "to keep things as stupid as possible". Unfortunatly with the event of the Dll's hell, oops programming and the Windows register an astrologer is more useful to fix the problems than a computer specialist... ;)

SergeD