PDA

View Full Version : Hi, I'm John Lord!

JohnLord
06-24-2006, 06:10 AM
John Lord is my artist name, but it has nothing to do with Jon Lord, keyboard-player of Deep Purple! Why this name? We needed a very British-sounding name for one of my early singles. My first name is John anyway, but you can call me My Lord! ;) :)

I've just bought EastWest's Colossus and am currently trying out the sounds. I think what they say around the Net is true - they are soooh good.

Now, I use Cubase 5.1 because I prefer the interface to that of the SX/SL/SE series ... and so on. Personal choice. But I've never used KOMPAKT before, and I'd appreciate links to any good tutorials, getting started stuff, etc.

Pleased to be a member of these Forums! :D

Musically,

John.

SongLand.com (http://www.songland.com/)

nikolas
06-24-2006, 08:16 AM
My lord! I salute you!

How come a Lord like yourself has so little knowledge about Colossus, a product whose name would only suite your soulfullness and gracuisness (sp...)

:D:D:D:D:D

Hi John! Happy to meet you and to be the first to greet you in yor own post!

About kompakt, there is little to do really... It's just a 'playback' sampler for EW products and so there's not a lot to do. I have a hunch though that if you tweak the enveloppe enough plyus some filters you could get some very interesting results.

Please note that I do not own Colossus. :)

JohnLord
06-24-2006, 08:52 AM
I salute you too, nikolas! ;) Soulful, yes. Gracious, well, one tries! LOL

How come a Lord like myself has so little knowledge about Colossus? Well, I've never really got into the work station-type applications over the years. They look so scary... So I've always used SoundFonts and, quite often, other kinds of VSTi's including Steinberg's Virtual Guitarist & Groove Agent, which of course have a completely different kind of interface.