PDA

View Full Version : Cheers!

gregb
07-16-2006, 10:31 PM
Hi there,

My name is Greg and I have just recently purchased Gold XP, but I have to admit, I've been lurking around this forum for a while before buying the software, and have found it to be fascinating, inspiring and really informative!

I have been passionate about music all my life, but put it on hold for quite a few years as I studied in the applied arts. I have worked for the last 25 years as a commercial photographer and a freelance art director - both careers that I still love. I also was semi-acquired by a College here in Vancouver where I taught for a few years and then evetnually took over as director of the applied arts division (I am responsible for 4 programs in Commercial Photography, Advertising & Design, Interactive Design and a brand new program called "The Electronic Music Producer's Program)!

I was introduced to Reason at first by an instructor in my Interactive Design Program and he still laughs to this day at the expression on my face when I saw it for the first time. That was about 4 years ago, and every spare moment of my time has been devoted to building a new home studio and production station since that day. I still work fairly often on Reason, and also use Ableton Live for creating my own loops (my musical background is as a guitarist and bassist). But most of the time I work on Cubase SX3 and a large collection of VST instruments and effects. I still remember being 17 years old (am 44 now) and belting out Beatle's tunes on a crappy old acoustic guitar - Man, what an extraordinary world we live in now!