PDA

View Full Version : EWQL Silver Demo

Vissequ
05-27-2005, 11:46 AM
Hello,

I purchased EWQL SO Silver about two months ago and I am fairly new to composition. I was wondering if I could receive some feedback on a new song I made (it is a concept theme for a Star Trek Fan film).

The first part is very passive because there is going to be a spoken intro up until the fanfare.

The link is: www.connorfabiano.com/music/songs/unity_theme.mp3

Thanks,
Connor Fabiano

jralbert
05-27-2005, 12:09 PM
Hi Connor,
I'm also very new to composition, so you should take my opinions with a grain of salt, but these were my impressions:

1. The passive intro could have stood fewer cellos; they jumped up and ate the whole mix. I really enjoyed the soft brass parts, and I think orchestrating a quiet intro with just those horns would get the job done.

2. Ambience makes the mood. I have been (rightly) accused of being too cymbal-heavy in my work, but a little swell here, a little skiff there can really lend depth to the piece. Also, judicious reverb on solo instruments, especially ones that end up all alone in the upper octaves as does the brass toward the end of your piece, helps to open up the sound.

3. Write it the way they'd play it: if you play a choir like a synthesizer, they'll sound like one - and the silver choir needs to be delicately handled at the best of times to get a halfway convincing sound out of. I wouldn't instrument that choir in isolation; you could probably orchestrate just as effectively a brass arrangment of the same line that would feel more natural. Similarly, the snare strikes at the end are all played as rolls - even the individual hits. More likely the drummer would roll to a strike, then play a few strikes before rolling again.