PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here: EW with Cubase

JC_Composer
11-30-2015, 11:35 AM
Hi!

Browsing over the forums here led me to choosing Cubase for use with EastWest Orchestra. Previously, I wrote some compositions for a start-up company using MixCraft 6 and its built-in synth libraries.

So of course I'm finding that this is a different (and more complex) beast. First of all, seeing the features of different versions of Cubase, I would like to know how I will be limited by using the Elements (most basic) version.

The Elements version that I have does not have too many options with notation (no slurs, other articulation, dynamics). Does this have an effect on the kinds of sounds that I'll be able to produce?

Using a library like, say, EastWest Strings, I'll need to switch between libraries often and use midi control codes additionally. I guess this is done by duplicating a line of a strings section and deleting everything but the sections you need to be heard with that particular library, since the PLAY interface doesn't look like something that can modify anything mid-track.

Again . . . I'm trying to find the front-end as best I can for learning how best to use these libraries. Thanks!

christerholm
12-02-2015, 02:30 AM
The biggest limitation would be the 16 VST instance limit, so you won't be able to insert more than 16 instances of Play (or anything else)

Full Cubase has 64 instances

LMW
12-02-2015, 06:06 AM
Notation will be a problem for you. Elements isnīt very sophisticated.

And itīs 64 MIDI and 48 Audio tracks. Depending on your template, your workflow,
this wonīt be enough. IMO, this is the biggest drawback. The other options that
Artist and Pro offer are neat to have, but nothing is - to me - as important as
being able to load as many MIDI and audio tracks as I want.
http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/cubase/line_up.html

You can download TransMIDIfier and create custom KS-patches.
http://www.bewaryprods.com/software/products/TransMIDIfier/