PDA

View Full Version : Poor little n00bxor

Dannthr
08-30-2006, 12:14 AM
Hey folks,

I'm a 24 year old undergraduate student at the University of Colorado pursuing a degree in English Creative Writing and a minor in Japanese Language and Literature.

Despite this I personally aspire to create music for (at the very least) a partial living.

Ever since I was young I've had a leaning toward music. I've been making up songs for as far back as I can recall, I started writing music almost immediately after I started reading it (about 6th grade) and I ran a composition extracurricular club at my High School.

By the time I was a senior I was playing two instruments in two different band classes and I seriously thought I would be heading to a music school.

But for whatever reason, that just didn't happen.

Maybe I felt that because I already had music in my bones I didn't need to pursue it.

When I was a sophomore in High School I discovered Final Fantasy 7 on the PC. But more importantly is that I discovered MIDIs after really enjoying the FF7 OST. When I found out that you could make music on the computer I was pretty much thrilled. I mean... the idea that you didn't have to wait for the band director to have the HS orchestra muddle sight reading through your work just to hear it played back was pretty darn nifty.

I don't know if any of you remember (or have ever experienced) how horrible a HS orchestra was/is, but let's just say that on an aural scale from zero to ten they rank at about a negative forty-two.

And I didn't even play a stringed instrument so sometimes I wouldn't even be able to attend the class to see them practice the piece.

Well, anyway, after I discovered MIDI it wasn't long until I discovered the lovelyness of varied MIDI playback devices.

When I graduated in 2000 I purchased my steadfast and trusty Roland JV1080 which sounded "so real, omg" that I even played FF7 PC with my Roland as a playback device (not actually a good idea, FYI).