PDA

View Full Version : Technical question about Piano Gold installation


charles1237
02-05-2016, 10:30 AM
Hi musicians!
I have a technical question about Piano Gold installation:
Ive just purchased EW Piano Gold and now my problem is:
For the moment I am using an external SSD disk with all my EW libraries and I wanted to install Piano Gold on it But I just remarked I have free space for only 3 pianos ;) So I installed 3 pianos (I copied the fourth on my iMac and erase it into the Library Folder) and directory is good in Play for this 3 pianos.
But now I would like to install the 4th which is on my DD but I cannot do that into Play because it is not appear in add library :(
I tried to reinstall the Play installation but there is only general "Piano Gold" available...
How could I do that???
3 pianos on external disk + 1 piano (Bosendorfer) in iMac DD
Is it possible???
Thank you very much for your answer
Best regards

Charles

LMW
02-05-2016, 10:36 AM
Of course. :)

Your folder structure currently looks like this:
- Pianos Gold
- - - - Instruments
- - - - - - - Bechstein
- - - - - - - Steinway D
- - - - - - - Yamaha C7
- - - - -Steinway Samples
- - - - - - - Bechstein
- - - - - - - Steinway D
- - - - - - - Yamaha C7
This is the corrected folder structure.

Just copy the Bosendorfer folder in the same fashion into the
main Pianos Gold folder. The structure has to remain the same.


After that, delete the favorites entry and relocate it.

charles1237
02-05-2016, 11:54 AM
Hi Lorenz,
Thanks for your answer but,I am not sure you understand my problem ;)
I don't want to put back Bosendorfer into the main library (I cannot do that because I have no more free space for that!!) but I want to leave Bosendorfer in another place as if it was a "new" library...
Into my external ssd I have the main "Piano Gold library" with Steinway, Bechtein and Yamaha (instruments+ samples) and I have Bosendorfer (instruments+ samples) on my HD.
My question is: how to install Bosendorfer now with his new place (DD)?

LMW
02-05-2016, 12:41 PM
Ah, sorry for misunderstanding. And Im afraid I made a mistake above.
I wrote it from memory. The folder structure is now corrected.

Youll need the following folder structure:
- Pianos Gold
- - - - Instruments
- - - - - - - Bosendorfer
- - - - -Steinway Samples
- - - - - - - Bosendorfer

Point Play to the Instruments folder. But the problem is that Play can only point to one folder at one time.
(Going theoretical here, Ive never done this.) Create a shortcut for the Bosendorfer Instruments
and Samples folders and add it to the main folder structure.
So that these two have Bechstein, Bosendorfer (Shortcut), Steinway and Yamaha.

Ok, hope thats understandable and that I got it now. ;)

charles1237
02-05-2016, 01:21 PM
Thanks again my dear Lorenz!
I contacted Asher Jay from EW and here is his answer:
"Yes, you have to install the whole library not just one piano." :(

charles1237
02-05-2016, 11:02 PM
I found the solution:
Add a new external ssd disk ;)))

Jay Asher
02-06-2016, 07:26 AM
Thanks again my dear Lorenz!
I contacted Asher Jay from EW and here is his answer:
"Yes, you have to install the whole library not just one piano." :(

Initially I wrote that yes, but I am not sure that is correct.

-Lawson-
02-07-2016, 10:49 AM
It is totally possible by using symlinks. Download this (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/10433/symboliclinker) (or use Terminal, but I prefer see a GUI), copy the piano you want to a different location, and then create a symlink that is in your main Pianos folder but links to the single piano in the different spot.

charles1237
02-07-2016, 10:55 PM
Thanks my dear Lawson but I already test it with symbolic link but it didn't work:
I put the original Bosend. instruments folder in his place, the Bosend. samples folder (symbolic link) in his place also: it appears in Play but when I select it, it put the traditional error message: "don't find samples.....". And if I give the new location for it, others piano are not found anymore...

helen
02-08-2016, 09:13 AM
Using a Symbolic link for one of the samples folders is working fine for me on Mac. Did you rename the link to the original folder name? Otherwise Play is not going to recognize it.

Best,
Helen

charles1237
02-08-2016, 09:41 AM
You're right Helen: I didn't rename the symbolic-folder....What a mistake ;)
Thanks!!!!!!!!!!