PDA

View Full Version : Instruments for Film,Tv and Games

Wesley
02-14-2016, 07:05 PM
Hi All,

I am Wesley. I am interested into Film, Tv and Games field, which instruments is a must to purchase? Because I am new in these instruments. I am planning to purchase the CCC4, which need 7 instruments, anyone can give me suggestion please?

Thank you. =)

C4L88
02-15-2016, 02:41 PM
Well, a little difficult to say as film/tv/game music can cover a very broad range of styles and sounds

I'd say that the ones you'll definitely want (based on most the film/tv/game music I hear) are:
-Hollywood Strings
-Hollywood Brass
-Stormdrum 2 Bundle
-Stormdrum 3

The next 3 are debatable:

-If you want to finish out the whole orchestra to it's fullest, you'd want to get Hollywood Woodwinds and Percussion (or just one if you want just that section), but you could also get Symphonic Orchestra to fill in the cracks there if you don't write very detailed or heavy winds/percussion parts. Plus this will save you a spot for another library

-If you see yourself writing some music with an "ethnic/world" flair you may want to consider RA, Silk, Gypsy, or Voices of Passion (which will all pair great with the Stormdrum series)

-If you may be doing a lot of solo piano stuff, the obvious choice there is QL Pianos; absolutely beautiful library

-If you don't have a strong reverb plug-in, you'd be hard pressed to do better than Spaces. I have used it on EVERY song I've written since purchasing it

Jeff Hayat
02-15-2016, 04:28 PM
Hi.

If you want to do music for Film, Tv and Games, you will need a whole heck of a lot more than seven libs. But, if you are just getting started, the post above mine has some good suggestions. Just bear in mind, that over time, you are going to have to build your arsenal to include an extremely wide range of libs.

Cheers.

Wesley
02-15-2016, 07:15 PM
Hi,