PDA

View Full Version : New Composer Looking for Advice on Midi Controller(s)

Gabriel_M
04-21-2016, 03:13 PM
So I have been watching this EastWest site for quite a few years dreaming of taking the leap and getting some of their products. I think it is time, ComposerCloud looks like a good way to get my feet wet.

Now the question: I need a midi keyboard and would like to know from you all, which would be better; aftertouch functionality or 88 keys? I am kinda on a budget and since I am just starting out I don't really want to go over the $300 dollar range in this department.
Aftertouch sounds really nice, but how much do you think it helps you?
For the Play software and key switching is it pretty necessary to have 88 keys?
The reason I ask these questions is that there doesn't seem to be an 88 key midi controller out there with aftertouch that is anywhere near my budget at this time.

Some of my ideas: Get an 88 key midi controller *and* a mini midi controller that does have aftertouch (which would be nice for traveling, which I am likely going to be doing), or just get a 61 key controller with aftertouch.

Also are there any brands you recommend?

Completely random (and possibly dumb) question? Does EW Spaces allow you to run live audio recordings through it or is just for samples?

NathanielJohnson
04-22-2016, 02:51 AM
I wouldn't worry about aftertouch. After spending years with 25/37/49/61 key keyboards, I fiiiinally bought an 88. One of the cheapest made - wow - what a difference. Not having to select octave ranges, being able to see the entire range of the orchestra, and key switching properly is definitely where its at. I'm using an Alesis Q88 and would recommend it to anyone. Simple, cheap.

chibear49
04-22-2016, 06:43 AM
+1 to N