PDA

View Full Version : Track or Rack Instruments for PLAY in Cubase?

jamieboo
04-24-2016, 04:04 AM
Used EWQLSO previously for many years, recently upgraded to Hollywood Orchestra. Using Cubase 8.
Through force of habit I have always set up my template using Rack Instruments in Cubase (as opposed to Track Instruments), but now that Track Instruments can accommodate multitimbral instances I'm wondering which would be best.
Basically it seems that there's now very little difference between Rack and Track instruments in Cubase, and that the Rack option continues now as more of a legacy choice.
Just wondering what you folks think on this issue?
I use PLAY (multitimbrally) pretty exclusively, so which is the best way to go - Track or Rack instruments?

Thanks folks!

Boberg
04-24-2016, 04:12 AM
I only own Cubase 7, so I have no experience with the multitimbral instrument tracks, but I think this mainly comes down to your own personal preference. What suits your workflow best?

jtay
04-24-2016, 06:21 AM
I go with track instruments for several reasons:
1. Fewer clicks to set up.
2. Can save track presets which include insert effects.
3. Track instruments can be renamed while rack instruments cannot.

trumpoz
04-25-2016, 11:59 PM
Note: I have a big template created so I just load everything from that and it is all set up.

I use rack instruments because that is the way I have always worked. Do instrument tracks accommodate multiple midi tracks on different chans? If it can't then the rack instruments make it easier to stack and layer articulations.

3. Track instruments can be renamed while rack instruments cannot.

Yes they can.

Press F11
Double click on the name of the rack instrument to re-name and type it in.

My Template (https://www.dropbox.com/s/43j71yhzvvktdtk/Rack%20Name%20Changes.jpg?dl=0)

jtay
04-26-2016, 01:30 AM
Yes they can.

Press F11
Double click on the name of the rack instrument to re-name and type it in.