PDA

View Full Version : Two simple questions regarding Platinum


Scott Rogers
04-07-2005, 06:12 PM
1) Does Platinum have ratchet samples?

2) Does the player work in stand-alone mode without a vst host?

perceive
04-07-2005, 06:41 PM
I am not sure about a ratchet, from the listings on http://www.soundsonline.com/sophtml/details.phtml?sku=EW-155 I do not think so.

As for part 2, yes it can run in standalone, it uses the kompakt player to do this.

Scott Rogers
04-07-2005, 06:52 PM
Thanks Perceive.

Ratchet isn't specifically listed, but maybe I'll get lucky and find it in the "Lots of Toys" category. It's such a useful percussion instrument, but I've never come across a sample.

Perhaps I'll make my own.

Stefan Podell
04-07-2005, 06:58 PM
Perhaps I'll make my own.

Metric or English? ;)

Nick Phoenix
04-07-2005, 07:15 PM
Yes there are a couple ratchet samples. You can use standalone, but it is only 8 part multitimbral.

Scott Rogers
04-07-2005, 07:35 PM
Nick, are they single ratchet hits as well as rolls?

dcoscina
04-07-2005, 09:26 PM
Yes there are a couple ratchet samples. You can use standalone, but it is only 8 part multitimbral.

That's true but with something like Maple Midi Tools, you have 4 outputs you can assign to 4 different instances of Gold (in my case). that's what I use with Overture 3.6 at the moment. :)