PDA

View Full Version : Greetings!

brewmeister
11-12-2006, 10:15 AM
Nationality: Asian-American
Hometown: Houston, Texas
Favorite Film Composers: Hans Zimmer, John Williams, and many others
Music Experience: Currently play the violin, going into my 11th year.

Hey folks- Brian here :)

I'm currently a high school student and have recently become quite interested in composition. Thanks to a great buddy, I have been infected with the composing disease. He introduced me to Finale Notepad and I found it to be a great intro to the world of composing. However, I'm looking for something more.

I am extreamly interested in EWQL Gold and have a question regarding it. EWQL is just a virtual orchestra, right? Does that means scores would have to be done in a seperate notational software? At first, I thought you could create whole scores on EW, but as I read more and more regarding this fabulous program, it seems like I would have to create pieces on a seperate notational software and plug in EW later if I would like to hear it played at it's best.

Are there any good notational programs that you would recommend? Are the costlier Finale programs worth the cost? I was extreamly interested in Cubase Studio 4 from Steinberg, yet seeing many negative reviews of it has put me off. Apprarently, it's extreamly buggy...:eek:

As a student, I'm on an extreamly tight budget. If two seperate programs need to be purchased, then I am screwed. :(

Notational software....$300....EW software....$500.....= ....broke composer. :D

Thanks for the help!

fongi
11-13-2006, 06:07 AM
Welcome, you´re gonna have a ball here ! Chris :D

Ignis Fatuus
11-13-2006, 04:09 PM