PDA

View Full Version : My first demos...

Ranietz
06-09-2005, 03:36 PM
Hi.

I'm a beginner at this whole orchestral thing but I've put some of my first demos out on the web.

A short description of the tracks:

1. The Search For Gold: http://sforfa.home.online.no/TheSearchForGold.mp3
I made this for the EWQLSO "live" contest last year. EWQLSO Silver only.

2. Short Demo: http://sforfa.home.online.no/ShortDemo.mp3
A demo with two separate clips. Used EWQLSO Silver and Stormdrum.

3. Plissken's Theme: http://sforfa.home.online.no/Plissken.mp3
(Did not use any EWQL products but I'll post it anyway if thats ok) FM7 only, except the drums wich are some old soundfonts. Slightly inspired by the movies "Escape from N.Y." and "Escape form L.A." by John Carpenter.

4. Forest Theme : http://sforfa.home.online.no/ForestTheme.mp3
A track for a small RPG game I made. Uses EWQLSO Silver and Stormdrum.

I'm currently having a bit of a "writers block", so I hope that some feedback of those demos will get me going again. :)

-Ranietz-

Sean R. Beeson
06-09-2005, 03:44 PM
What I have typically done in the past to get over writers block, is explore something new. Try to experience either a new kind of music, or enviroment. Try somethign you have nevr tried before :)!
it helps me feel a little more relaxed too, which can sometiems helps you overcome writers block.

I will listen to the demos more closely later and give some constructive critiques.

Sean

DallasComposer
06-09-2005, 04:17 PM
Listening as I write.

Good stuff.

I went right for the Plissken.mp3 because you said it was FM7 and I wanted to hear something different than the usual orchestral fare. Reminds me of Tangerine Dream, maybe they did that, don't remember, I know they did some soundtracks. I wanted to hear it more distorted and messed up, but good as it is I guess. I'm digging on Forrest now.