PDA

View Full Version : Erik from Central Texas

kingerock
01-22-2007, 02:27 PM
My name is Erik and I'm from Central Texas. I'm a lifelong musician that's always dreamed of writing and composing. I got a copy of Finale back in '95 and have dabbled in it from time to time, but never anything 'major.' I did score an original Christmas play at our church when I was 19 called 'Nativity.' I played and sequenced the entire thing on a Yamaha W5 keyboard. It was very fulfilling. But I just put it down after that and became a the church's pianist.

A long story short, almost a year ago I stumbled upon the EQSO and almost passed out that midi orchestration has come so far. So I naturally became re-energized about writing and composing again. I purchased both the EWSO Silver and StormDrum and I've done 2 very minor projects with those and Cubase LE on my home PC.

I've decided to dedicate this year to my composing. I was considering buying the gold or platinum EWSO, but I figured I would use this year to push myself to sticking with it, and at the end of the year i've met my goals, then I'll spend more money on the libraries. I did buy a Mac and Cubase 4 Studio to dedicate it to composing. My setup now is:

Mac G4 Quicksilver Dual 1Ghz, 1.5 GB Ram, 250 GB system drive, 320 GB external USB 2.0 drive.
Edirol FA-101 Firewire Audio Interface
M-Audio Keystation 49e
M-Audio StudioPro 4 Monitors
Behringer Tube Ultragain Mic Preamp
Line 6 Pod 2.0 guitar processor
Korg AX10G Acoustic guitar preamp
EWSO Silver Edition
StormDrum
Cubase 4 Studio
GarageBand 3
GarageBand Symphony Orchestra JamPack
GarageBand World Music JamPack
Finale Songwriter 2005

It's a hodgepodge of equipment and software, but I'm getting it organized and i'm 'gameplanning' now, but the plan now is...

1. Online software training with Grooveboxmusic.com for Cubase
2. Take the Music for the Media Study Course
3. ??? (offer my services for food :-) )