PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Oklahoma

crackerjack
03-02-2007, 03:34 AM
Hi, my name is Allan, I've been reading the forum threads for a few months and feel I'm finally ready to come out of my shell. Want to say that I really respect everyone here, some wonderful music I've heard so far.

About me, hmm. Well, I write music for a living, though I feel I have so very much to learn. I've put out three albums with my exprimental art rock band. We're doing fairly well and/but I've started getting jobs writing for some animation projects (currently, a five minute Disney T.V. short...) and I absolutely know zero people who compose for multimedia, so in essence, you are my peers.

I bought the Gold XP and Boesndorf piano about three months ago. I run Protools and Reason on a dual G5 and I'm finally feeling like I'm getting the hang of it. I own Logic, but have learned everything on Protools via RTAS and I'm absolutley lost on Logic.

I thank the EWQL guys for giving us these great samples and keeping them secure. I own thousands of very mediocre samples but up until now, the only samples I could stomach using were the few I recorded myself.

I write by my own methods and understandings (non-traditional), and only read standard notation when I have to teach (I barely get away with it). I'm basiclally chord theory and ear.

Some Favs in groups and composer's style : Beach Boys, Morricone, Lee Hazelwood, Elfman, Mercury Rev, Tchacovski, Esquivel. But honestly, I like songs more than artists. I'm sure we all do. Currrently love Strausss Jr's "Eqyptian March".

Anyways, I hope to get to know you guys, I do think I'm the only Okie who's into this....

take care

Allan V

DallasComposer
03-02-2007, 10:37 AM
:o Welcome aboard 'ole friend north of the Red River.

Nash
03-06-2007, 01:42 AM
Welcome Allan!

Writing music for living. Sounds great!

Enjoy this forum :D

crackerjack
03-06-2007, 04:21 AM