Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread

Old 02-12-2011, 07:06 PM
Silver Member

epwpower is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Sandy Bridge and RAM question

So, I'm no PC expert at all which is why I'm having a friend build my next PC. But just the other day, newegg had a sale 15% off all memory, so I went ahead and bought the Gskill 24 Gigs (6 x 4) because for my next PC I have my mind set on 24 gigs of RAM and NO LESS!

However, I also have my mind set on the new intel processor, but I don't think I've done my research with fully understanding the i7 2600 processor that's coming out (or currently in remission) because I looked at the pertaining motherboards and noticed that they are supporting 32 gigs of RAM, meaning that there's 4 slots..so essentially you gotta be using 8gb sticks of RAM to fill that! Which also means that my purchase on Newegg will do me no good because with the RAM that I just bought, I could only get a max of 16 gigs with the new i7 processor.

Am I mistaken? Are there motherboards for the i7 2600 that max out at 24 gigs so that I can be able to fill it up? If not, then why on earth would they make it that way? 8 gig sticks of RAM are super expensive and that makes me sad

Last edited by epwpower; 02-12-2011 at 07:12 PM.
Old 02-12-2011, 10:17 PM
Gold Member

Veneteaou will become famous soon enough

I would wait until the i7 2600 is re-released and doing well to shop a computer for one. At the moment you are looking at maybe 2 LGA 1155 motherboards out there, and neither one is what you want in a workstation in my opinion. So wait until it is getting solid reviews, and companies start rolling out mobo's for it.

And you are right: those boards only having 4 RAM slots means 8GB sticks get you to 32. In my opinion you need at least 6 slots for a workstation, to keep it upgradable.
Old 02-12-2011, 10:52 PM
Platinum˛ Member

aptmusic9 is on a distinguished road