Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > The Suggestion Box > PLAY - Suggestions
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2012, 08:29 AM
Denny S.'s Avatar
Denny S. Denny S. is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,074
Denny S. is on a distinguished road
Default More intelligence for moved samples

What I'd really like to see with PLAY is more intelligence regarding sample location. I've moved one of my libraries to another HD and whenever I'm opening an older project PLAY will keep asking me where the samples are. Apparently the exact sample location is always written into the saved file, which is frankly the only explanation why the project files are so MASSIVE and saving takes forever.

Then there's another case where I've split the instruments of HOW to multiple drives. Whenever I'm loading an instrument that's located on a different drive than the one previously loaded PLAY will ask me where the instrument is. And that while it's always been on the other drive.

Some automation and a better location system would be really appreciated.
__________________
http://www.dennyschneidemesser.com/

Samplitude 11 Pro
Intel i7 950
48GB DDR3
M-Audio Delta 1010LT
3x 1TB Samsung EVO 850 SSDs (Streaming)
3x 1TB WD Black Drives (Storage)
  #2  
Old 10-15-2012, 04:54 AM
Plasuma!!!'s Avatar
Plasuma!!! Plasuma!!! is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 471
Plasuma!!! is on a distinguished road
Default

+1 for better record keeping and faster save times, haha
  #3  
Old 10-15-2012, 02:48 PM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 39
Lucas is on a distinguished road
Default

And another +1 for faster saving, whatever the culprit.
  #4  
Old 10-16-2012, 02:12 AM
Denny S.'s Avatar
Denny S. Denny S. is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,074
Denny S. is on a distinguished road
Default

Definitely agree with the saving times. There's nothing worse than a one minute autosave hickup in the creative process.
__________________
http://www.dennyschneidemesser.com/

Samplitude 11 Pro
Intel i7 950
48GB DDR3
M-Audio Delta 1010LT
3x 1TB Samsung EVO 850 SSDs (Streaming)
3x 1TB WD Black Drives (Storage)
  #5  
Old 10-16-2012, 04:23 PM
gstitt gstitt is offline
Platinum˛ Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,348
gstitt is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Apparently the exact sample location is always written into the saved file, which is frankly the only explanation why the project files are so MASSIVE and saving takes forever.
That is correct. However, I'm 99% sure you can trick Play by leaving shortcuts or symbolic links where you originally had everything installed.
  #6  
Old 10-16-2012, 04:29 PM
gstitt gstitt is offline
Platinum˛ Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,348
gstitt is on a distinguished road
Default

One potential option for faster saves would be another layer of abstraction. Instead of saving all information in every instrument file, there could be something like a "base instrument" file that contains all the sample information for the instrument. Then, the ewi file could simply reference these base files while also saving any changes. The ewi files would then be tiny regardless of the size of the instrument and should save instantly.

Alternatively, ewi files could reference other ewi files, which would achieve the same result.

An additional advantage of this is that you wouldn't have to change all your saved multis every time there is an instrument update. The updates would simply update the base file with new sample information, which would be referenced by user multis.
  #7  
Old 10-19-2012, 02:49 PM
Jose7822 Jose7822 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 950
Jose7822 is on a distinguished road
Default

+ 1,000 for faster saving times. He'll yeah!
__________________
ASUS Maximus VI Hero | Intel Core i7 4770K (OC'ed to 4GHz) | 32GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (2400MHz) | ASUS ATI Radeon HD7790 | Corsair H100i Water Cooler | Corsair HX850 PSU | Windows 7 Pro (SP1) 64 bit | Cubase 7.5 64 bit | RME FireFace UCX | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad
  #8  
Old 11-25-2012, 08:18 PM
Casiquire Casiquire is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 536
Casiquire is on a distinguished road
Default

I agree about being smarter with moving samples around. I thought that it would be simple enough to just "remove" the instrument from the Browser (there is a remove button after all!) and then right click and add a new library, but the remove button doesn't actually seem to do anything! So I checked the manual and it told me to first remove the library then right click and add a new library.
  #9  
Old 01-28-2013, 04:39 PM
peter5992's Avatar
peter5992 peter5992 is online now
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 5,201
peter5992 is on a distinguished road
Default

Not sure whether this the same thing, but at least it's very related: I'd like to ability to easily 'switch' the location of samples from one disk to another. To clarify: I have a laptop DAW with three internal drives, two of which are in Raid 0 where my samples are stored. It's pretty full and there is some overflow to an external eSATA drive (also Raid 0). Sometimes I don't want to take the external drive and then it would be nice to switch back to the internal drives where the samples are stored.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.