Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2012, 07:41 AM
--cox-- --cox-- is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
--cox-- is on a distinguished road
Default Cubase 6 to 7 update

hi,

I know it's a bit early because cubase 7 is only released for a few days

But is the update to cubase 7 worth 200 euros ? i'm currently using cubase 6

and i would also like to know if there are any specific features u like (and why) that are new in cubase 7..

Please let me know.

Thanks in advance
  #2  
Old 12-06-2012, 09:34 AM
MPDmike MPDmike is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 1,069
MPDmike is on a distinguished road
Default

Impossible to say at this stage. The best place to check is over on the Steinberg forums, where there are lots of posts from people who either love or hate the new version
  #3  
Old 12-06-2012, 11:16 AM
Jeff Hayat's Avatar
Jeff Hayat Jeff Hayat is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 3,726
Jeff Hayat is on a distinguished road
Default

That's not something that anyone can answer for you, save for yourself. "Worth it" is a relative term, and while it may be worth the money to one person, it may not be to another.

Best thing you can do is have a look at the new features, and see if there is anything there that will make your life easier. If not, there should be a demo sometime in Feb. You can d/l it then, and try it out for yourself, and seeing as tho you already have a dongle, no need to buy one just for the demo.

Cheers.
  #4  
Old 12-06-2012, 12:18 PM
chest chest is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,794
chest is on a distinguished road
Default

Like the others said: as ever, whether C6 to C7 is a good change for you depends on which parts of the ever-more-sprawling Cubase you'd use.

There's a glamourised version of what's new in C7 here: http://www.steinberg.net/en/products...whats_new.html

Steinberg's bragging about the new mixer - it's superficially prettier, but you probably can't tell whether it's better or worse to work with til you've tried it. There's a new "channel strip" that they seem to be saying uses old Cubase algorithms (EQs, etc) integrated with more computational efficiency into Cubase.

One Steinberg person wrote on the forum that the reason why the mixer didn't get more attention is that they put a lot of time into the new "chord track" - not clear yet whether or not that's of any use for people with more than basic knowledge of harmony, but perhaps it has something to offer if used in conjunction with other Cubase functions (eg for trying out alternative harmonies quickly and easily?).

Various improvements for those who record audio, including an improved Variaudio.

For MIDI users, there's a new feature that seems to be able to eliminate a problem that some users have always had, where, although a MIDI instrument is played in time with "the click", the MIDI notes are shown early against Cubase's MIDI tempo grid. (One theory is that musicians unconsciously compensate for the lag (latency) between pressing a key and hearing the sound, and that this has in the past meant that Cubase logged the MIDI note when it was actually played (early), rather than when the sound emerged.)

For those still using WXP: for C6 WXP isn't "supported" but people do use it in WXP; however, C7 won't even install in WXP.
  #5  
Old 12-06-2012, 11:19 PM
christerholm's Avatar
christerholm christerholm is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,124
christerholm is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

On Steinberg's forum there is a long thread about how the new GUI basically kills all workflow and they are calling it "Teletubbies / Fisher Price" style. That the new mixer becomes useless because you can't even properly use it. I haven't seen it myself, but that's the word there.

http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewt...1b4eff3429eb0d
__________________
i7 2600k, 32GB, Win7 + Cubase 6.07 x64 | M-Audio Audiophile 2496 | SO Gold Plus Close Mics, Choirs, Ra, Silk, Gypsy, Fab Four, MOR, SD2 PRO, Pianos Gold, QL Spaces
  #6  
Old 12-07-2012, 02:39 AM
SJK SJK is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 243
SJK is on a distinguished road
Default

To me the mixer is kind of a turn-off. We'll have to see how it handles. But I would love to get the new ASIO guard function. This would make life with larger templates so much easier.

It basically increases the buffer size for playback-only tracks and keeps the active record enabled track at low latency. You can play VIs with less delay and still not use up all your CPU.
  #7  
Old 12-07-2012, 03:29 AM
Benji Benji is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris
Posts: 322
Benji is on a distinguished road
Default

I've heard that Steinberg asked directly what customers wanted to see in Cubase 7 to make this update, so might not be a bad thing at all, I'm not sure there are huge improvements, but the mixer is more pleasant to look at, more polished and structured (less detailed, more color schemes = better for the eyes) and the Chord Track looks pretty nice, although we composers don't really need it, I think that might be a very handy tool when stuck on a project... After all I'm human, it's my condition to use new tools.
I'll be downloading my upgrade today anyway

Oh btw I've also heard a problem of compatibily between iLok 1 and Cubase 7, it seems that until a next update, Cubase 7 only supports iLok 2 dongles... Needs to be clarified though, I own both iLoks so I'll keep you "updated", if I dare say
http://www.soundsonline-forums.com/s...ad.php?t=43774
__________________
All the best,

Ben


Intel core i7 3930k 3.2Ghz, Motherboard: Asus P9X79 Pro, Memory: 64Gb, x3 Vertex4 SSD, W7 Pro 64bit, RME Fireface UC, Cubase 7, VE PRO 5

PLAY: Hollywood Strings & Brass & Woodwinds Diamond Edition,SO Platinium Plus, VoP, SD2, SD2 Pro, Goliath, RA, SC & VOTA Expansion, Silk, Pianos, Spaces.

Last edited by Benji; 12-07-2012 at 03:35 AM.
  #8  
Old 12-07-2012, 03:49 AM
MPDmike MPDmike is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 1,069
MPDmike is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benji View Post
it seems that until a next update, Cubase 7 only supports iLok 2 dongles...
Not true. I only have iLok ver 1 and I am getting my EastWest stuff to run without any problems.
  #9  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:33 AM
NGPixel's Avatar
NGPixel NGPixel is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 623
NGPixel is on a distinguished road
Default

As I stated in another thread, Cubase 7 + iLok 1 + EW works perfectly fine. This issue only applies to some very old plugins.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3.4ghz, 16GB DDR3 RAM, Windows 8 Pro x64, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Cubase 7

Hollywood Strings Diamond, Hollywood Brass Diamond, Hollywood Orchestral Woodwinds Diamond,
Symphonic Orchestra Gold + Close Mics, Symphonic Choirs,
Pianos Gold, Stormdrum 2, MOR, MOR 2, Gypsy, Silk, QL Spaces
  #10  
Old 12-09-2012, 12:53 PM
wcreed51's Avatar
wcreed51 wcreed51 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Berkshires, MA USA
Posts: 180
wcreed51 is on a distinguished road
Default

I thought Steinberg used (and owned) eLicenser, not iLok. When I've looked at demo versions in the past, that's what was used for the demo license...
__________________
Bill Reed
Finale 2011b, Notion 4, Overture 4, Sonar X2
Win7 x64, 32GB RAM, M-Audio ProFire 2626
Kontakt, VSL VI, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choir and Pianos
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.